Ok…… so….over the past few days I’ve sprouted forth with valetudinarian (ha! look that one up) self-righteousness about health and healing coming from a good gut and what you put in, is what you get out. That nourishing, clean, whole foods are the answer to vitality and abundant life and that sugar is the politically incorrect nutter of the food world. And then still, you have to find what works for YOU.

And here’s proof of that:

“The Japanese eat very little fat and suffer fewer heart attacks than the Canadians, British or Americans.

Mexicans eat a lot of fat and also suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans, British or Canadians.

The Japanese drink very little red wine and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans, Brits or Canadians.

The Italians drink excessive amounts of red wine and also suffer fewer heart attacks that the American, Brits or Canadians.

The Germans drink a lot of beer and eat lots of sausages and suffer fewer heart attacks than the Canadian, British or Americans.

Ukrainians drink a lot of vodka and eat lots of cabbage and suffer fewer heart attacks than the Canadians, British or Americans.”

(Author and research unknown.)

Inference: Eat and drink what you like – its speaking English is what kills you!

We’re not exactly talking about heart attacks in this series but you get my drift.

 Eat and drink and be merry, for tomorrow you may die.

Thank you. That’s exactly what I’ve done over the past few days and I’m still alive, uh, if only just!  What can I say, for I cannot lie…

I lost all control of my sensible self and let rip my rebel! Yeah, yeah, yeah…. I ate a whole lot of delightfully deceitful, glorious stuff I shouldn’t have eaten and with it, had not one, but a few of the best tasting cups of coffee – ever!   Amazing how good something tastes when you haven’t had it in a while. And how once you start, you can’t stop. Quite simply sugar, coffee and refined carbs are addictive and now its curl up and croak time for my body as my heart breakdances, my fingers are thick, my head dull, my disposition ugly and my joints are shouting at me. Loudly!

Entirely self inflicted and although I feel like parrot poop today, let me tell you that those culinary ecstatic moments were oh so good, if only for fleeting moments in time. (I shouldn’t be telling you that should I?)

I may have (almost) perfected my diet with what works and what doesn’t for me but what I haven’t quite mastered is my instant gratification button. It waits, surreptitiously wanting to be pushed and screaming for my attention like a 2 year old wanting “uppy”!  No kidding – I’m not known as the cake queen for nothing. I adore baking and I love, love, LOVE chocolate chip cookies and a good cup of coffee. Give me a thick ham sandwich on real whole-wheat bread and my soul sings. The urge to splurge on Lindt chili chocolate remains as strong as Oliver Twists desire for

Food, glorious food!
Hot sausage and mustard!
While we’re in the mood, Cold jelly and custard!

Familiar words from the evergreen movie, Oliver. Drooling-dream food for those poor orphans but sadly for RA sufferers every item mentioned here sends your joints to hell on the bloat boat with a wake of indigestion. And can I ever attest to that right now. Ouch!

As humans we are wired to avoid pain and gain pleasure. Getting away from pain is usually the greater motivator of the two, except, it seems, when food is involved. My pain and pleasure indicators sometimes get confused as I attach great amounts of delight and hyper-salivation to celebration cookies, chocolate and coffee when I know full well that they will bring much pain to me later.    Somehow my logical thinking self is replaced by the give me, give-me-now indulgent self that bows and scrapes so easily to the cupcake speak of “pick-me-pick-me”!

Oh boy….

But….. there is hope. Always hope.   Thank the Lord that the glory of each morning offers us the chance to begin again. If we don’t know failure, how can we measure success? If we don’t how how bad it feels in a sugar induced coma, how will we know how good it feels to be sugar-free? There is never failure, only feedback.

“The secret of success is learning how to use pain and pleasure instead of having pain and pleasure use you. If you do that, you’re in control of your life. If you don’t, life controls you”. (Tony Robbins)

Clearly, I still have some success learning to do.

Do you?

