I’m harping on about food and the correct diet to follow if you’re an auto immune or RA sufferer for the simple reason that correct eating, I believe, is the most critical of the puzzle pieces. Food nourishes, revitalizes and helps to heal broken bodies. It’s our core source of sustenance, so make it as good and clean as you can. I re-iterate, I am neither a medical practitioner nor a nutritionist. What I write in this blog is merely my own interpretation of what I’ve learned WORKS FOR ME and it’s taken about two years to get here!  I’m sharing MY story in the hope that you will be encouraged to find and follow your own path to perfect health. Some people choose to go on raw food diets and they work perfectly for them. Others choose Paleo, juicing, or, or, or….. You have to find what works for you. It may take a while but once you hit BINGO! and your body begins to respond…well then Yehaaaa!, the roses bloom, the birds sing and all is fine and dandy.

So back to the greens then. Why greens? Because they are so good for you. I’m told the molecular structure of greens closely resembles the molecular structure of human blood. Ha! So, if you want a healthy blood transfusion –  without Dracula, without the pain, cost and inconvenience – get those greens down your gullet.

BONE BROTH

I m big fan of soup and since I’ve learned of the value of bone broth, its now become the basis of lots of delicious yum-yum cups of pure goodness. I love the convenience of a whole meal in one bowl and because of its richness, well… what’s not to like about this stuff eh?

Bone broth is homemade-stock (not the squares that come in a box) brewed from bones, which are slowly simmered for at least 24 hours.  (Use a slow cooker on low, if you have one.) When it’s ready you’ll have a lovely liquid rich in trace minerals, calcium, magnesium and phosphorus that have leached from dem bones. Feed your immune system this and it will adore you. Feed your arthritis and aching joints this and you will adore it. Win/Win. And, it also contains glucosamine and chondroitin – both of which slow down the cartilage degenerative process and help reduce pain and keep the joints mobile. Rich in both gelatine and collagen this magical broth promotes bone and joint healing and aids digestion. I could go on and on, but take my word for it, this is the white truffle of culinary goodness – minus the cost. Bones are cheap. I buy mine from the organic butchery and as I’m not wholly a red meat fan, I usually ask for chicken.   Beef and mutton are fine too if that’s the way you want to go. And don’t forget to use the discarded bones from a roast chicken or the like.

RECIPE

Around 1 1/2kg (3 lbs.) of bones

1 large onion

1 large carrot

2 stalks of celery

1 clove of garlic

2 Tbs apple cider vinegar (helps to draw the minerals out of the bones)

  1. Roast the bones in a 350 deg (180deg) oven for about 20-30 minutes to bring out the flavour.
  2. Put the roasted bones along with the rest of the ingredients in slow cooker or large pot. Cover with cold water and bring to the boil. Reduce to a very slow simmer and let it cook for between twelve and twenty four hours. Check the water level as you may have to add more.
  3. Strain the broth through a sieve into glass jars. Allow to cool and either freeze or refrigerate. (It should last in the fridge for about five days)
  4. As the broth cools the fat will harden and rise to the surface. You can remove it but don’t, its good for you. Fat does not make you fat, but that’s another story all on its own.
  5. Use this broth as a base for soups, casseroles or stews, or you can simply season and drink it warmed as is.

GREEN SOUP

Gather anything and everything green you can find. Spinach, celery, kale, broccoli, cauliflower (pretend its green), beans, herbs whatever. I don’t think I’ve ever made two batches that taste the same. If you’re a more precise cook than I am, then perhaps you could find a proper recipe somewhere on the internet. As for me…I simply fry an onion in a large blob of (grass fed) butter, add all the chopped greens I can and swish them around altogether until they are wilted and watery. Pour in the bone broth, as much as you like – the more broth the thinner the soup.  Let the whole lot simmer with a twist or two of Himalayan rock salt, some dried herbs or whatever.   I’m very much a gung-ho, bit of this, more of that, non-conventional cook, but there’s really not much that can go wrong.   Allow to simmer slowly and when everything in the pot is nice and soft, allow to cool slightly and use a stick hand blender to make the whole lot homogenous and GREEN.

I freeze in one cup portions – either in the cup/mug itself for quick reheat in the microwave, or in ziplock bags.  Some say reheating in a microwave is not good for the food or for us, so if I’m feeling particularly virtuous I’ll freeze the soup in zip lock bags and reheat in a pot.  Then there’s the issue of plastic bags…..Oh faff and fiddle, just find what works for you – small step by small step and while you’re doing it, ask for God’s blessings and mercy – for the food and for you.
.

 

 

