On some days I’m not even vaguely interested. On others I’m obsessed.

It’s an anomaly, this love affair between my belly and my soul and at times that love affair shouts only one language……GIVE MY SOUL FOOD, AS IN SOMETHING SWEET!

On these days I can spend much too much time walking to the fridge, opening it and staring into the greenery whilst wishing that somehow, just somehow, a carrot cake has magically made itself and is parading its cream-cheese-finery right before my eyes. I’m fully aware that if this were so, it would induce soporific silliness and a near anaphylactic shock, but yet I still do it time and time again.

Some of us are wishful thinkers, slow learners and perennial time wasters.

Sigh! Seemingly all rational behavior is absolved when I WANT SOMETHING SWEET and want it NOW!

So what do I do? I make a

Cocochino, and this is how:

  1. Put the kettle on to boil.
  2. Measure 2 tsp. of organic unsweetened coco powder into a mug.
  3. Add 1 Tbsp. coconut oil
  4. Add +- ½ cup of organic coconut milk
  5. Add 2 tsp. xylitol or preferred natural sweetener
  6. Fill mug up with boiling water, stir well
  7. And then, here comes the fun part…..ta dah….
  8. I pour the mixture into a Magicbullet cup (or any high powered blender) and give it a good few supersonic whirls. This makes for a fully frothy top.
  9. Sweet craving sorted, get on with life.

Notes:

Be careful here, there is coconut milk and coconut milk. Read the labels please, people. I’ve only ever found one brand of tinned pure organic coconut milk where we live, the rest have more additives, stabilizers and thickeners than the Seychelles has palm trees. Not good.

I put coconut oil into the mixture because its very good for me, gives the drink a richness and it makes me feel satiated for a good while afterwards.

Depending on my desperation for sweet, I can sometimes get away without using any sweetener at all. Coconut milk in itself is quite sweet and if I add a teaspoon of cinnamon, which is also very good for me, somehow my soul is satisfied.

If you don’t have a Magic or Nurtibullet or high powered blender – get one. Great for green smoothies. If you’re still not convinced then use a stick blender although the froth won’t be as fluffy.

And if you want to raise this sweet game a level try this:

Coconut Milk Chai

1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

1 vanilla bean (optional)

¾ teaspoon cinnamon

1 ½ inch piece of ginger

4 pitted dates

2 cups of boiling water

Place all ingredients in a high powered blender and blend on high for a few minutes. Let cool a little and strain (if you want to) through a nut milk bag or cheesecloth. This is just as good iced as it is warm.

Notes: Dates are not encouraged on a Autoimmune or RA diet because of their high sugar content. They are, however, full of wonderful nutrients, so you can make an exception some times….and again I say…..

Do what works for you.

