Sometimes this thing called life is not fun or even the vaguest bit funny. Much as I want to wake up each morning declaring the glory of the Lord with the heavens, it doesn’t happen nearly as often as I’d like. Some days my not-so-nice self downright refuses to. My bad! So sad!

Time, as you may or may not have worked out, doesn’t stall so we can think about changing our minds or feelings. It keeps on keeping on, good mood or bad. We just get pulled with the flow whether we like it or not.

Keeping on keeping on – in time, on time, with time. It’s how we keep on that can make a big difference to us, the people around us, the world.

I love how the roles have reversed in our family. Where once I was the mother-of-all-wisdom and the premium go-to-coach to my children, now they are that to me.   A few weeks ago when I got out of bed on the wrong side for too many days in a row,  it was Rory who introduced me to GEBY.

GEBY’s great. She has helped me to focus more positively and this is how she rock and rolls:

G– Be grateful: Simply: That’s thank you.   To God. For every good and perfect gift that comes from above. I’m learning to say thank you too, for the not so good times. For in everything there is a lesson to learn and without the porridge we cannot appreciate the pie. There is always something to be grateful for. Even Piglet from Winnie the Pooh “noticed that even though he had a Very Small Heart, it could hold a rather large amount of Gratitude.”

E Exercise.   The earlier the better for me. I would like to hit the floor running so that by the time I’ve finished whatever movement I’ve chosen for the day, my body is only just waking up and realising that its been pushed and pummeled and is feeling AWESOME – after the fact. Before the fact there is always an argument – yes, no, argggh, no, should, could, ought, not going to….. I know the benefits of moving, especially as a stiff RA person, yet honestly, I still say that I love to HAVE exercised much more than I love TO exercise.

B – Breakfast, some say the most important meal of day but I’ve changed that to making my Bed. This is no big deal for a lot of people. For me it’s a very big deal. I’m a natural at lazy so making my bed tells me I can’t get back into it to sloath the day away. Making a bed also takes effort and when you’re not into housekeeping, effort takes effort. But once my pillows are fat and fluffy, the sheets smoothed and cover pulled, I feel a real sense of accomplishment that then sets me up for the rest of the day. It also makes the room look pretty so the dust bunnies are overlooked.

Y – You Do something for you!   And that’s not selfish either. You can’t give what you haven’t got. Fill your own tank first, so it can spill out over others. You time for me is reading. The bible. My daily devotions. An inspirational book.

As an extra I add O – Others.   What good shall I do today? Simply because…..

When you focus outwards on others, the bothersome inward becomes insignificant.

