Today is a kind of a blerrggh day. I feel listless, heavy, inflamed, tired, bloated and definitely not the life and soul of my own party. Probably a bit of this and too much of that.

I’m not sleeping well at the moment.

I’ve dipped into the sugar pot, uhumm…a little!

Too many crazy carbs.

Some of us are slow to learn. It’s that instant gratification thing again! S-i-g-h!

I’ll get there from here…. someday soon.

I did make my bed though and I went to gym and I did have some You time and I did a bit of encouraging. GEBY-O is alive and well and living outside of my blog.

Here’s the thing about life: Even if you’re enjoying perfect health, your diet is as sleek as a slide and you’re a reincarnated Mother Teresa, life can still be full of molehilled mountains.   That’s just the way it is! Stuff happens. Sleep slips and a lack there of can literally make you both sick and tired.

Sometimes the antithesis of strain and pain is as easy as a good night’s sleep. It helps to put a lot of things into perspective for all of us. And for the autoimmune or RA sufferer specifically, sleep can help to reduce pain and inflammation and is essential so that the body can repair itself. Besides, it just feels so good to have a restful, full night’s hours sleep.

Sleep is cardinal to human survival and its been said that the body can cope for longer periods without food than without sleep.

So how long can we survive without sleep? No one really knows. According to the National Sleep Research Project: “The record for the longest period without sleep is 18 days, 21 hours, 40 minutes during a rocking chair marathon. The record holder reported hallucinations, paranoia, blurred vision, slurred speech and memory and concentration lapses.”

I can assure you I don’t have to stay awake for 18 days for many of the above- mentioned malaises to manifest in my life.

Restful sleep gives our bodies the chance to repair themselves. The liver purifies the blood, the muscles sort themselves out and serotonin is increased. Serotonin is a neurotransmitter that is responsible for maintaining mood balance.   Too little serotonin can lead to depression and suicidal thoughts and feelings – compounding the struggle of those who suffer arthritis.

There’s not getting around it – the power of deep restful sleep cannot be underestimated.

The throw-around number of serious shut eye hours you need at night is somewhere between 7 1/2 and 8, but once again, its an individual thing and you have to find WWFY (what works for you).  Sleep needs are so individual.  While you may be at your rip roaring best sleeping seven hours a night, someone else may clearly need nine hours to have a energetic and  productive life.

Clearly the six hours I’m getting right now is not working for me.

I’ll be tuning in tomorrow for tips on how to get more.

