IMG_3236

Isn’t a cupcake just a big cake that’s managed to cut calories and shrink?

Same ingredients, different amounts?

It is said that a whole cake is better than a half cake, which is better than a slice of cake, which when you think about it, equals a cupcake, which is much better than a whole cake as cupcakes are KING!

Oh yes they are, especially when they’re breaking barriers and building bridges.

When I started out on this 31 day Community thing cupcakes were remote and I really had no idea where it would take me, where it would end and where I would go with it in between. And all that was fine by me, as truly, this is not unfamiliar territory but the story of my life.

Except that this is turning into quite a story and could end up being THE story in my life.   But I’ll leave the telling of that to another time and another day. So follow me and keep reading dear people!   This serial is only just starting.

Which brings me to a little aside: Thank you so much to those that have tried to FOLLOW me but don’t find the buttons to push and boxes to tick on mobile devices and elsewhere– and have kindly let me know. Eisch…. you’re asking big here. I can barely operate the toaster, never mind all this techno stuff that comes in HTML’s (isn’t that a clothes shop?) and disks and data and kilobytes. Ok, those I know. They’re those heavy things you pick up and put on when you take-too-many-a bite! Not so?

My children are both techno boffs, but the one is out of town at the moment and the other has rolled his eyes at his mother so many times that they’re now permanently stuck at the back of his head making him see red every time I so much as mention the colour purple as in b…lo.g. In the interests of keeping this family intact, I may just have to seek professional help. Anyone out there with RAM in your ROM that wants to help me, PLEASE?

Sorry, I digress…

I’ve just googled (yes, I can do that) cupcake and this is what randomly came up:

A cupcake is a person who other people are always in the mood to hang out with, just like people are always in the mood to have cupcakes. 

Exactly.  I rest my case!

IMG_3235

And in case you’d like my cupcake recipe, from which I’ve baked more than a million in the nearly thirty years I’ve had of all things children, here it is sweet and simple from the recipe book I’ve had for 35 years.  Can you tell?  (And can you tell, techno buff that I am…not…that I cant even get the pic to be right side up. Hashtagohdearohdearohdearme!)  Here it is then:

Preheat oven to 180 deg or 3 ½ gas.

Prepare cupcake holders in pans.

125g butter(Google tells me again a little more than half a cup, or a little less than 9T)

2 eggs

¾ cup of white sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 ½ cups of self raising flour

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ cup milk

Beat the softened butter with the sugar until light and fluffy.

Add eggs one at a time and beat well after each. Add vanilla.

Slowly mix in flour, alternating with milk and beat again.

Fill paper cups a little more than half full.

Bake for about  20 minutes until firm to touch and slightly browned on the top.

Remove from oven and allow to cool before icing (frosting)

I don’t have an icing/frosting recipe written down, so I’ll allow you to experience the amazing Google for yourself. Search butter cream icing or whatever you want and follow the directions. You’re much more likely to get a yummy result ‘cos I just chuck in icing sugar and butter and a little of that and then some more this with a lick and a taste and mix it with a knife.  Why, cos my mother did. Please don’t try this at home unless you’ve iced more than a million like me.

Now go ye and do likewise.  Go create community with cupcakes. Please.

